PHAKAMISA is pronounced pa-ga-mee-sa.
A Zulu word meaning 'to uplift.'

Where we work - Phakamisa UK


PHAKAMISA UK is a registered charity (1095757) and our principal role is to collect all the money donated in the UK, through individuals, groups, churches and send it to PHAKAMISA in Pinetown, South Africa, the focus of the charity’s efforts.

The UK Trust comprises a dozen trustees, from around the UK, who meet twice a year. In between the main trust meetings, sub-committees ensure that agreed actions are implemented.

We aim to raise over £100,000 per annum and we transfer funds to Pinetown monthly, which helps the team there plan its work in accordance with the resources available.

There are many people in the UK who make regular donations, whilst others give periodically, perhaps on a birthday or at the time of another family celebration. There are also specific fund-raising activities organised by trustees individually or collectively, or by church groups and other organisations. Some businesses donate a proportion of their profits to the work each year. Read Get Involved.


The UK Trustees are all Christians who have knowledge and experience of the work of PHAKAMISA and are committed supporting the work of PHAKAMISA by raising awareness of the work of this ministry here in the UK. We come from all walks of life from all areas of the country bringing to the Trust a range of talents and gifts.


Whilst we don’t have trustees living in every region, each trustee is responsible for areas of the country and so we are able to cover the whole of the UK.


North East England – Northumberland, Tyne & Wear, Durham, Part North Yorks (Cleveland & Middlesborough)

Yorkshire & Humberside – South, West, North Yorkshire, East Riding, Part North Lincs.

East Midlands – Derbyshire, Nottinghamshire, Lincolnshire, Leicestershire, Rutland, Northamptonshire.

East – Essex, Hertfordshire, Bedfordshire, Cambridgeshire, Norfolk, Suffolk.

Greater London – 32 boroughs and the City of London.

South East – Berkshire, Buckinghamshire, East Sussex, Hants, Isle of Wight, Kent, Oxfordshire, Surrey, W. Sussex.

South West – Somerset, Bristol, Gloucestershire, Wiltshire, Dorset, Devon, Cornwall.

West Midlands – Shropshire, Staffordshire, Warwickshire, West Midlands, Hereforeshire.


North West England – Cheshire, Cumbria, Greater Manchester, Lancashire, Merseyside.

Northern Ireland.